The Wahkiakum County Eagle

Local News

County positions set for 2014 elections

Published on Wed, Apr 23, 2014 by Rick Nelson

Read More News

(Corrected April 29, 2014)


    Filing runs May 12-16 for positions that will be on the summer and fall election ballots, and many county government positions will be open.


    County Auditor Diane Tischer said she and county Commissioner Blair Brady and Assessor Bill Coons have already declared with the state Public Disclosure Commission that they will be candidates for re-election.


    Cathlamet Town Council Member Richard (Dick) Swart announced Monday that he is resigning his position effective 12:01 a.m. May 1. The unexpired portion of his term in office will be added to the 2015, not 2014, ballot.


    Positions and current office holders include:


Partisan positions


    County Commissioner District  3 (4-year term), filing fee $ 359.80, Blair H. Brady incumbent;  precincts--Skamokawa, Deep River, Grays River   and Rosburg/Altoona.


    Assessor (4-year term),  filing fee  $553.78, Bill Coons incumbent.


    Auditor (4-year term), filing fee $ 553.78, Diane L. Tischer incumbent.


    Clerk (4-year term) filing fee $ 553.78, Kay Holland incumbent.


    Prosecuting attorney (4-year term), filing fee $1,214.13, Daniel H. Bigelow incumbent.


    Treasurer (4-year term), filing fee $553.78, Tammy Peterson incumbent.


    Sheriff (4-year term), filing fee $ 700.27, Mark Howie incumbent.


Non-partisan positions


    District court judge (4-year term), filing fee $437.97, William J. Faubion incumbent.


    Wahkiakum PUD Commissioner Position #1 (6-year term), filing fee $165, Eugene Healy  incumbent; precincts--East and West Puget Island  and South Cathlamet.


Partisan filings/no fee


    Precinct committee persons (2-year terms)              


Precinct    Democrat    Republican


Deep River    none    Don Smith                         


Grays River    Steve Puddicombe    Sulema Zerr


Rosburg/Altoona        Blair Brady    Margaret Hyland


Skamokawa    Susan O’Connor    Charles Parker


Elochoman    Hans York    Claudia  Rua


Rosedale    Dan Bigelow    Annette Riley


Columbia    Kay M. Cochran    Jerry Hogan


E. Puget Island    Mike McAvoy    Lana Poe


W. Puget Island    Lee Tischer    Wallace Bingham


S. Cathlamet    none    James Stronach


N. Cathlamet    Janelle Bond    None