The Wahkiakum County Eagle

Local Sports

Mule football team receives awards

Published on Wed, Dec 18, 2013
Read More Sports

 Outstanding Wahkiakum Mule football players were recognized at a recent awards program. The Most Valuable Player Award went to Mason Mackey. Seth Doumit received the Inspirational Award, and Hank Ferguson received the Scrub Award, which honors a leading junior varsity player. The team votes on the three awards.


    In awards decided by coaches, Shane Souvenir received the Honorary Captain Award. Dylan Hansen received the Tommy Burnside Offensive Lineman Award. Gunnar Blix received the Tommy Burnside Defensive Lineman Award and the Wes Thacker Memorial Defensive Player Award, which honors the team's best defensive player. The Coaches' Award went to Hank Ferguson.


    Receiving Iron Man Awards, which recognize attendance at every practice and game during the season, were Brandon Burdick, Zach Calvert, Ethan Cothren, Blix, Ferguson and Brock Cothren.


    Receiving Iron Mule Awards, a new award to honor attendance at every practice and game during a four-year high school career, were Hansen, Travis Wegdahl and Nathan Cothren.