The Wahkiakum County Eagle - Established as The Skamokawa Eagle in 1891

State Parks free days of 2018 schedule released

 

January 25, 2018



The Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission their schedule for free days, when visitors to state parks will not need a Discover Pass for day-use visits.

State Parks free days are in keeping with the legislation that created the Discover Pass—a $30 annual or $10 one-day permit required on lands managed by Washington State Parks and the Washington departments of Natural Resources (DNR) and Fish & Wildlife (WDFW). The Discover Pass legislation provided that State Parks could designate up to 12 free days each year when the pass would not be required to visit state parks. The Discover Pass is still required to access lands managed by WDFW and DNR on these days.

Washington State Parks will offer the following free days in 2018:

Monday, March 19 — State Parks’ 105th Birthday;

Saturday, April 14 — Springtime free day;

Sunday, April 22 — Earth Day;

Saturday, June 2 — National Trails Day;

Saturday, June 9 — National Get Outdoors Day;

Sunday, June 10 — Free Fishing Day;

Saturday, Aug. 25 — National Park Service Birthday;

Saturday, Sept. 29 — National Public Lands Day;

Sunday, Nov. 11 — Veterans Day;

Friday, Nov. 23 — Autumn free day;

Note: The free days do not apply to Sno-Parks. During the winter season, December through March, visitors to Sno-Parks will need Sno-Park permits, which are available for purchase online or from vendors throughout the state. For more information about winter recreation permit requirements, visit: parks.state.wa.us/winter.

 

Reader Comments
(0)

 
 

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017