The Wahkiakum County Eagle - Established as The Skamokawa Eagle in 1891

Patriots Pen contest winners announced


January 10, 2019

Front Row – Anna Goldinov, Autumn Jensen, Ruth Goldinov, Henry Wilson, Abigail McKay Beach, Evan Odle, Joseph Merz, Zephaniah Robert and Lana Hornback. Middle Row – Ruby Brandon, Alliana Bennett, Svetlana Goldinov, Peter Vik, Arwynn Haney, Montana Stephens and Phillip Goldinov. Back Row – Bob Roche, Bill Tawater and Danny Eaton. Photo by Nikki Reese – Principal, J.A. Wendt Elementary/John C. Thomas Middle School.

Patriots Pen contest winners announced

On Wednesday, December 19, 2018, Wahkiakum Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 5297 presented certificates and cash awards to winners of the 2018 Patriots Pen and Youth Essay contest at the Middle School gym. Working alongside America's youth and instilling a sense of patriotism has always been a VFW priority. Each year local VFW posts hold three essay competitions, the Voice of Democracy for grades 9-12, the Patriots Pen for grades 6-8, and the Youth Essay for grades 3-5. Students write essays based on given patriotic themes and the essays are evaluated by members of the local post. Winners of the essay competition are recognized with certificates and cash awards. First place Youth Essay winners compete up to the District 16 level. Patriots Pen and Voice of Democracy winners compete up through District 16 and State levels and if successful, to the National level. 57 Youth essays, 62 Patriots Pen essays, and two Voice of Democracy essays were evaluated.

District 16 Commander Danny Eaton, Post 5297 Commander Bill Tawater, and Post 5297 Essay Chairman Bob Roche presented certificates and cash awards to the winners at the ceremony attended by students and school staff. The winners were Youth Essay, 3rd grade: 1st place, Joseph Merz - $100; 2nd place, Zephaniah Robert - $50; 3rd place, Lana Hornback - $50; 4th grade: 1st place, Hank Wilson - $100; 2nd place, Abigail McKay-Beach - $50; 3rd place, Evan Odle - $50; 5th grade: 1st place, Anna Goldinov - $100; 2nd place, Autumn Jensen - $50; 3rd place, Ruth Goldinov - $50; Patriots Pen, 6th grade: 1st place, Abby Tsybikova - $100; 2nd place, Montana Stephens - $75; 3rd place, Phillip Goldinov - $50; 7th grade: 1st place, Svetlana Goldinov - $100; 2nd place, Peter Vik - $75; 3rd place, Arwynn Haney - $50; 8th grade: 1st place, Ally Bennett - $100; 2nd place, AvaDaneill-Jean Thomas - $75; 3rd place, Ruby Brandon - $50. At an earlier ceremony at the Wahkiakum High School, certificates and cash awards were presented to the Voice of Democracy Essay winners: 1st place, Lucas Brown - $250 and 2nd place, Colton Vik - $150.

Post 5297 also recognized their teacher of the year, Eric Hansen. Eric was presented with a certificate and a cash award of $400. Eric went on to win at the District 16 and State level and will compete at the National VFW level. More about Eric in another article in this paper.

Winners in the District 16 competition are Youth Essay: 3rd grade, 2nd place, Joseph Merz; 4th grade, 2nd place, Hank Wilson; 5th grade, 2nd place, Anna Goldinov; Patriots Pen: 2nd place, Abby Tsybikova; and Voice of Democracy: 3rd place, Lucas Brown. A District 16 awards ceremony will be held on Saturday, February 23, 2019 at 12:00 p.m. in the J.A. Wendt Elementary School multi-purpose room.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020