N/GRV School Board Meeting Notes

Grants considered for youth camp


December 30, 2021

On Dec. 21, the Naselle Grays River Valley School District Board of Directors meeting began at exactly 6:30 p.m. with a pledge of allegiance. Three community members and one Eagle correspondent attended. All the board members were present along with two staff members.

The consent agenda was adopted quickly, then came time for public comment. However, no one spoke. The next item was board reorganization with the current board being recognized as officers: Chuck Hendrickson as president, Amy Hunter as vice-chair. Hunt suggested someone else be appointed as legislative representative. Tyson Vogeler was suggested, he agreed, and the board's vote for the roster for 2022 quickly passed. Superintendent Lisa Nelson reported that the K-12 enrollment is at 304 for October, November and December, 2021.

Regarding personnel changes, the board acknowledged the resignation of George Scott, as of the end of the current school year in June, 2022. There was no unfinished business that needed a vote.

Supt. Nelson announced there will be meetings to determine a grant opportunity. Details need to be discussed with staff and administration from the Naselle Youth Camp regarding what grants projects could be exactly and how much funding would be requested, along with a project budget yet to be developed. The grant could be as high as $500,000, but whether that amount would be the final request is yet to be determined by the work group and will be reported at the next board meeting.

Nelson reported that the administration is working on acquiring improved technology for Zoom meetings. The budget report was given and accepted by the board.

Nelson also reported on Football League Awards as follows: First Team Offense: Jason Harman, RB, Kolten Lindstrom RB, George Wilson OL, and Riley Thorsen OL. Second Team Offense: Jacob Lindstrom QB, Trent Stephens WR/TE. Honorable Mention Offense: Elmer Toftemark OL. First Team Defense: Kolten Lindstrom DE, Elmer Toftemark LB. Second Team Defense: George Wilson DL, Trent Stephens DE, Joey Strange LB, Craig Reitz, DB. Defense MVP: Jason Harman and co-coach of the Year: Kevin McNulty.

The meeting was adjourned at 7 p.m.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 04/24/2024 08:47