The Wahkiakum County Eagle - Established as The Skamokawa Eagle in 1891

Election 2018: Incumbents take early leads with new exception--Gene Strong

Strong now leads Brady by 6 votes


November 8, 2018

Thursday update: Challenger Gene Strong took an six-vote lead over incumbent county Commissioner Blair Brady in the latest count of Wahkiakum County general election votes.

After the Thursday morning count, Strong, the former county sheriff, led Brady 1,188 to 1,182.

The next count will be at 12 noon Nov. 27. There were three ballots left to count as of Thursday afternoon.

In the county's other close race, incumbent Bill Coons led challenger Brian McClain 1,239 to 1,131 in the election for county assessor.

Also,incumbent Dist. 19 Rep. Jim Walsh clung to a narrow lead over Erin Frasier in the race for that position; the district wide count is 25,417 to 24,787; Walsh has 50.63 percent of the vote compared to Frasier's 49.37 percent.

Results from Tuesday first-count voting are below:

The 2018 general election drew great voter interest locally and across the country, with all Wahkiakum County incumbents leading in their bids for re-election.

County Commissioner Blair Brady holds a slim 1,051-1,036 over retired sheriff Gene Strong. Election officials will count again this morning (Thursday) at 11 a.m. They had 150 late arriving ballots on Tuesday and will pick up more as the mail in ballots arrive. Brady ran as a Democrat, Strong as an independent.

In the race for county assessor, incumbent Bill Coons led challenger Brian McClain 1,097 to 984 when votes were counted Tuesday. Both ran as Independents.

Incumbent Sheriff Mark Howie defeated challenger Graham Phalen 1,274-854. Howie ran as an Independent and Phalen as a Republican.

Incumbent county Auditor Nicci Bergseng has won election to the position to which she was appointed after the retirement of predecessor Diane Tischer, defeating Matt Kuhl 1,211-821. Both ran as independents.

Prosecuting Attorney Dan Bigelow also won re-election, defeating challenger Stewart Feil 1,310-795. Bigelow ran as a Democrat, Feil as an Independent.

In uncontested races, Democrat County Clerk Kay Holland received 1,667 votes; District Court Judge Heidi Heywood 1,639; Democrat Treasurer Tammy Peterson 1,632, and PUD Commissioner Robert L. Jungers 1,490.

In the race for US Congress, District 3, incumbent Republican Jaime Herrera Beutler held off a challenge from Democrat Carolyn Long. District wide, Herrera Beutler tallied 52 percent of the vote, and Long received 48 percent. In Wahkiakum County voting, Herrera Beutler led Long 1,227-7896.

Incumbent US Senator Maria Cantwell easily won re-election, defeating Republican Susan Hutchinson with 58.6 percent of the vote statewide to Hutchinson's 41.4 percent. In Wahkiakum results, Hutchinson led 1,159-955.

In elections for Legislative District 19, both incumbents have won re-election.

In the race for Position 1, incumbent Republican Jim Walsh gained 1,186 votes in Wahkiakum County, with Democrat Erin Frasier receiving 896. Walsh leads district wide 50.7 percent to to 49.3 percent for Frasier.

For Position 2, Wahkiakum voters preferred Cathlamet Republican Joel McEntire over Democrat incumbent Brian Blake by a 1,075-1,047 margin.

However, district wide, Blake led with 54 percent of the vote to McEntire's 45.94 percent.

Voter turnout in Wahkiakum County was 70.09 percent with 2,170 ballots from 3,096 registered voters. The turnout was fifth highest among Washington counties.

Naselle/Pacific County results

Assessor Bruce P. Walker, no party preference, 5,447.

Auditor: Democrat Joyce Kidd 5,181.

County clerk: Democrat Virginia A. Leach 5,158.

County Commissioner, Dist. 3: Michael "Hawk" Runyon 3,553; Todd P. Stephens 2,689. Runyon ran as an Independent; Stephens had no party preference.

Sheriff: Incumbent Democrat Scott Johnson 3,325; Independent Robin Souvenir 3,881.

Treasurer: Democrat Renee Goodin 5,157.

Prosecuting Attorney: Incumbent Independent Mark McClain 4,120; Pam Nogueira Maneman, no party preference, 2,776.

North District Court Judge: Elizabeth Penoyar 1,982.

South District Court Judge: Nancy R. McAllister 3,166.

PUD Commissioner No. 2: Debbie Oakes 3,745; Don Pape 2,852.

US Senator: Incumbent Democrat Maria Cantwell 3,701; Republican Susan Hutchinson 3.634; Cantwell gained 59.48 percent of the vote.

Congress, District 3: Incumbent Republican Jaime Herrera Beutler 3,682; Democrat Carolyn Long 3,602; Herrera Beutler had 52.25 percent of the vote.

State Legislature, Dist. 19, Position 1: Republican Jim Walsh 3,449, Democrat Erin Frasier 3,856; district wide Walsh led narrowly with 50.7 percent of the vote to Frasier's 49.3 percent.

Dist. 19 Legislative Position 2: Incumbent Democrat Brian Blake 4,096, Republican Joel McEntire 3,169. District wide, Blake led with 54.06 percent of the vote to McEntire's 45.94 percent.

EMS Proposition No. 1: Yes 1,976, 69.82 percent; no 854.

Fire District No. 15 EMS Levy: Yes 12, 63.19 percent; no seven; district wide 109-92, 54.23 percent yes.

Of Pacific County's 14,724 registered voters, 7,462, 50.68 percent, cast ballots.

Election officials counted late arriving ballots at 3 p.m. yesterday (Wednesday), after The Eagle had gone to press.


Reader Comments

PleaseProofreed writes:

The third paragraph starts with a typo. It should read: The next count... NOT The next county...

SteveC writes:

You might want to check your math, 1,188 - 1,182 is a 6 vote lead, not an 8 vote.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 06/25/2020 14:29