Candidates file for local offices

A special filing period will open in June for three positions


The filing period for the next election ended on Friday, with 18 candidates signing up for 13 offices.

Three offices received no candidates for the coming term including the Naselle Grays River Valley School District Director 1 position currently held by Tyson Vogeler, the Skamokawa Water/Sewer Commissioner 1, currently held by Levi Helms, and Cemetery District 1, Commissioner 1, currently held by Cathy LaBerge.

According to Amanda Boehler in the Wahkiakum County Auditor’s Office, there will be a special three day filing period for those three positions on June 5, 6, and 7.

Several incumbents and appointees are running unopposed. Tom Merz, a new candidate for Fire District 1 Commissioner position currently held by Ronald Kimmel, is also running unopposed.

There will be several races in the coming election.

Joe Baker, a recent appointee to the Town of Cathlamet faces a challenge from Michael Severson; and Oliver van den Berghe, the incumbent for the Fire Protection District 2 Commissioner 2 position has found a challenger in Jeff Waters.

Three school board positions are hot with Luke Gardner challenging incumbent Aris Campbell for the Director 3 position at NGRSD; Patty Anderson, Director 4 for the Wahkiakum School District finding a challenger in Kandice Merz; and Chris Gartski and Brian Heston vying for the Director 2 position at WSD vacated by Paula Culbertson.

Here is a summary of the filings:

Port 2 Comm 3: Austin Burkhalter, incumbent.

TOC Council P3: Michael Severson; Joe Baker, appointee.

Fire D3 Comm 2: Michael J. Whalen, incumbent.

NGRVSD D1: No candidate

NGRVSD D3 4 year: Luke Gardner; Aris Campbell, incumbent

SKA Water/Sewer Comm 1: No candidate.

Cem D1 Comm 1: No candidate.

TOC Council P1: Robert Stowe, incumbent.

TOC Council P2: Kermit Chamberlain, appointee.

Fire D1 Comm 2: Tom Merz.

Fire D2 Comm 2: Jeff Waters; Oliver van den Berghe, incumbent.

Fire D4 Comm 2: James McCoy, incumbent.

Port 1 Comm 1: James Sorenson, appointee.

Port 1 Comm 2: Scott Anderson, incumbent.

WSD Director 2: Chris Gartski; Brian Heston.

WSD Director 4: Kandice Merz; Patty Anderson, incumbent.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024