Established as The Skamokawa Eagle in 1891

Anderson, Campbell retain school board seats, Heston beats Garstki

Joe Baker leads Severson by 11 votes in Cathlamet Town Council race

The results are coming in.

Officials counted 1,337 votes on Tuesday night. The next count was scheduled for Wednesday at 5 p.m., after the Eagle went to press. At that time, there were 150 more ballots left to count, and more were likely to arrive in the mail.

With 3,490 registered voters in Wahkiakum County, the turnout stood at 38.31 percent on Tuesday.

In contested races, incumbent Patty Anderson leads challenger Kandice Merz 783-334 in a bid to hold onto her seat with the Wahkiakum School District Board of Directors.

Brian Heston leads Chris Garstki 739-331 for departing Director Paula Culbertson’s position on the Wahkiakum School Board.

In the multi-county race for a seat on the Naselle/Grays River Valley School District, incumbent Aris Campbell held off challenger Luke Gardner with 304-182 votes. Among Wahkiakum County voters, Campbell received 119 votes to Gardner’s 64.

Competing for a seat on the Cathlamet Town Council, incumbent Joe Baker pulled ahead of challenger Michael Severson 79 to 68.

Fire Protection District 2 Commissioner 2: incumbent Oliver van den Berghe has 63 votes to Jeff Waters’ 41.

An increase to the property tax levy for Fire Protection District 4 received 289 votes for and 182 votes against.

Several candidates retained their positions, and some earned new spots among the uncontested races. Port 1 Commissioner 1 incumbent James Sorenson was re-elected with 509 votes. Port 1 Commissioner 2 incumbent Scott Anderson sill serve another term, receiving 532 votes. At Port 2, Commissioner 3 incumbent Austin Burkhalter will continue. He received 499 votes. AT NGRVSD, Bob Torppa joined the school board with 178 votes. Incumbent Robert Stowe received 105 votes for the Town of Cathlamet Council Position 1 and incumbent Kermit Chamberlain had 117 votes to retain Council Position 2.

Tom Merz will join the Fire Protection District 1 as Commissioner 2 with 187 votes. Michael J. Whalen received 184 votes for the Fire Protection District 3 Commissioner 2 position, and James McCoy received 375 votes for Fire Protection District 4 Commissioner 2 position.

The vote will be certified on November 28.


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 07/11/2024 19:05