Established as The Skamokawa Eagle in 1891

New sign for schoolhouse

The Friends of Skamokawa at Redmen Hall/Central Schoolhouse have erected a new visitor's sign. Travelers often mistake this building for a church. However, the structure is typical of the popular turn-of-the-century Queen Anne architectural style. The Central School educated up to fifty children from first grade through eighth grade. Classes were offered a certain months out of the year with road and weather concerns, as well as much needed help on farms for harvest season. Students who wanted upper education boarded at schools in Astoria, Kelso and Portland. A new Skamokawa Grade School was built for more children in the late1920's in what is now Vista Park near the host site.

In the later 1920's The Improved Order of the Redmen, a civic-minded patriotic fraternity, purchased the schoolhouse building for its meetings and public events. The Redmen Hall was moved up the hill from the highway by steam donkey to make way for the existing road in the mid- 1930's. The Improved Order of the Redmen fraternity occupied the building from 1927-1960.

The Interpretive Center at Redmen Hall was established in 1985 by a group of citizens who purchased the building and began renovations. It was entitled, "Friends of Skamokawa Organization". For 39 years, volunteers have been maintaining the building and sharing its rich cultural river background with visitors each year. This year the schoolhouse building is 139 years old and standing strong!

A big thank you is due to Stephanie and Doug Olsen, Eric Ferguson, and Steve McClain for their procuring of the sign and its placement where all travelers can see it.

The Interpretive Center at Redmen Hall/Central Schoolhouse offers a self-guided tour of historical photos and wall displays showing Rivertown history. "Schoolhouse Group Tours ", led by historians, are available by appointment. Call 360-795-3007.

The center is open March through December Saturday and Sundays 12 p.m. to 4 p.m. A book store and gift shop are also available. Donations and memberships are welcome to help support and maintain this historical gem. Online orders of gifts and books are available at"


Reader Comments(0)