The Wahkiakum County Eagle - Established as The Skamokawa Eagle in 1891

Assessor, sheriff have election challenges


Candidate filing for this year's elections started Monday, with lots of interest in local races.

Some potential local candidates have registered their candidacies with the state Public Disclosure Commission (PDC).

As of Tuesday afternoon, filings include:

Wahkiakum County Assessor (4-year term) William H. Coons incumbent, and Brian McClain; both prefer the Independent Party.

Wahkiakum County Auditor (4-year term) Nicci Bergseng incumbent, prefers Independent.

Wahkiakum County Clerk (4-year term) Kay M. Holland incumbent, prefers Democratic Party.

Wahkiakum County Commissioner District 3 (4-year term), Blair H. Brady incumbent, prefers Democrat.

Wahkiakum County District Court Judge (4-year term, nonpartisan), Heidi L. Heywood incumbent, non-partisan.

Wahkiakum County Prosecuting Attorney (4-year term), Daniel H. Bigelow incumbent, prefers Democrat.

Wahkiakum County Sheriff (4-year term),

Mark C. Howie incumbent, prefers Independent, and Graham Phalen, prefers Republican Party.

Wahkiakum County Treasurer (4-year term),

Tammy Peterson incumbent, prefers Democrat.

Wahkiakum Public Utility District, Commissioner #2 (6-year term, nonpartisan), Robert Jungers incumbent.

19th Legislative District (Cowlitz, Grays Harbor, Lewis, Pacific, Wahkiakum counties):

State Rep., Position 1 (2-year term)--Jim Walsh incumbent, prefers Republican, and Erin Frasier, prefers Democrat.

State Rep., Position 2 (2-year term) Brian E. Blake incumbent, prefers Democrat, and Joel McEntire, Cathlamet, prefers Republican.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019