Vote certified, levy passed

Solid turnout in Wahkiakum County


November 30, 2023

Votes were certified on Tuesday and results remained unchanged.

Joe Baker held off challenger Michael Severson in the closest race. Appointed during the last term, Baker will continue his position on the Cathlamet Town Council with 91 votes to Severson’s 85.

Patty Anderson held on to her seat on the Wahkiakum School District’s Board of Directors after besting challenger Kandice Merz, 935-434.

Voters chose Brian Heston to replace outgoing Director Paula Culbertson on the Wahkiakum School District Board of Directors, with 895 votes to Chris Gartski’s 414 votes.

Aris Campbell will continue on the Naselle Grays River Valley School District Board of Directors after beating Luke Gardner with a combined Pacific/Wahkiakum vote of 398 votes to Gardner’s

262. Campbell received 152 votes from Wahkiakum County voters, while 99 voters showed support for Gardner.

Voters supported District 4 Fire Departments levy lid lift with a vote of 340-227. This will increase the levy rate for people living in the district from $0.35/$1,000 assessed home value to $0.50/$1,000 assessed value.

Of the 3,490 registered voters in Wahkiakum County, 47.76 percent participated this election,

the fifth highest turnout in the state.

Port District 1 Commissioner 1

James Sorenson 605

Write in 13

Port District 1 Commissioner 2

Scott Anderson 631

Write in 17

Port District 2 Commissioner 3

Austin Burkhalter 647

Write in 11

NGRVSD Director District 1

Robert Torppa 570 Multi-county Wah/Pac race

Write in 11

NGRVSD Director District 3

Luke Gardner 262 Multi county Wah/Pac race

Aris Campbell 398

Write in 3

WSD Director 2

Chris Gartski 414

Brian Heston 895

Write in 8

WSD Director 4

Patty Anderson 935

Kandice Merz 434

Write in 3

Cathlamet Town Council 1

Robert Stowe 124

Write in 11

Cathlamet Town Council 2

Kermit Chamberlin 142

Write in 4

Cathlamet Town Council 3

Michael Severson 85

Joe Baker 91

Write in 1

Fire District 1, Commissioner 2

Tom Merz 239

Write in 35

Fire District 2, Commissioner 2

Jeff Waters 55

Oliver van den Berghe 85

Write in 1

Fire District 3, Commissioner 2

Michael Whalen 248

Write in 0

Fire District 4 Commissioner 2

James McCoy 438

Write in 5

Fire District 4 Property Tax Levy increase

Yes 340

No 227


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024