Voters pick Olson for Cathlamet mayor; school board races decided


October 28, 2021

Updated: Correction for totals in Amy Chadwick/Ryan E. Carter school board election.

By Rick Nelson

Wahkiakum County voters made their choices Tuesday in elections for school boards, port districts and Cathlamet mayor and council members.

And in advisory votes, they also overwhelmingly supported repealing tax and financial measures passed by the state legislature.

Council Member David Olson overwhelmed opponents in winning election as Cathlamet's new mayor. In Tuesday's count, he drew 129 votes, 74 percent, while write-in candidate Ashlenn Coleman had 26 and Council Member Robert Stowe 19.

Elected to council positions in uncontested races wereCeCelia Raglin with102 votes, Jeanne M. Hendrickson 117, and Laurel Waller 109.

In contested races for two positions on the Wahkiakum School District Board of Directors, Susan O'Connor defeated Season Long 656-330, and Bobbie Stefan beat Brandie Conrad 557-371. Shawn Merz was re-elected in an uncontested race with 734 votes.

In elections for the Naselle/Grays River Valley School District Board of Directors, Amy Chadwick defeated Ryan E. Crater 350-159 in the only contested race. Chadwick led 169-73 in Wahkiakum voting and 181-86 in Pacific County voting.

Amy Hunt was elected to Director Position 2 with 365 total votes; there were 131 write-in votes. Lonnie Eaton was elected to Director Position 5 with 445 total votes; there were 66 write-in votes.

In another contested election, Alan Bennett defeated Mike Backman 370-307 for a seat on the Port District No. 2 Board of Commissioners. In an uncontested race, Austin Burkhalter drew 546 votes.

Brett Deaton was re-elected to the board of commissioners of Port District No. 1 with 447 votes in an uncontested race.

On Puget Island, John Vik defeated Jason Will 220-92 in an election for a seat on the Fire Protection District Board of Commissioners.

In another contested election, Richard Bigler outpolled Tom Merz 231-144 for a seat on the District 4 commission.

Meanwhile, Kay E. Walters was elected to the Fire Protection District Board of Commissioners with 91 votes in an uncontested race.

Linda Strong was elected to the board of commissioners of Fire Protection District 3 with 215 votes in an uncontested race. Also, Michael J. Whalen was elected to the commission with 221 votes in another uncontested election.

Theresa Kuljis was elected to the Cemetery District 2 Board of Commissioners with 94 uncontested votes.

Of the county's 3,548 registered voters, 1,383 had cast ballots, 38.98 percent. Elections officials had 50 late arriving votes on Tuesday; they'll count those and others arriving by mail with correct postmarks at 10 a.m. Friday.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 05/27/2024 00:50